Free Violin Plans!!

Few years ago I made electronic version of violin building plans. They were lying on my computers hard drive for long time. I just thought it would be fair to share them, as they are far much better than any which I have found from internet for free.

If one makes violin according these measurements, I can promise, it will be functional on regards proportions. Unfortunately there are millions of other things, that can still ruin your violin.

Drawings are released under public domain, so feel free to edit and share. These drawings are based on Antonius Stradiuarius Cremonenfis Faciebat Anno 1705 violin but are not identical. I hope this helps new violin luthiers to get started.

Better violin drawings can be bought, and I suggest buying better drawings after third violin or such.

if you invent or make your own version of these plans feel free to post link here(or send them to me).

Happy building

link to violin plans (I add neck’s measurments soon):

styled Violin plans

This picture is released under Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License. and is only for decoration.

Some links to make building bit easier:

Other free plans:

and links for ideas:

8 comments on “Free Violin Plans!!

  1. Caleb says:

    Hello,
    I just wanted to say thanks. I’ve bought some plans, but, being a total neophite, I wanted something I could mess up without having to spend at least $10 every time. I would have thought there would be more people willing to share their work, but searching for anything online is frustrating- haven’t been able to even find a pattern for a mold. I plan to work on a plan pdf that I would like to share for people like me who want to learn, but don’t have lots of cash and training.

  2. Shankar Srinivasan says:

    Hi, its so heartening to see somebody share this kind of information for free, especially when you have a ton of sites charging crazy money for the same…I’m a miniature hobby enthusiast and plan to try my hand at making the same. Will be posting pics and will link this site for sure…
    PS: No commercial intentions of selling the miniatures :-)

  3. Greg says:

    For free plans and a detailed violin building how-to, visit luthm.org

  4. Calendar says:

    I do not leave a leave a response, however
    I browsed a few of the remarks here Free Violin Plans!
    ! TinWoodViolin. I actually do have some questions for you
    if you do not mind. Is it simply me or does it look like a few of the responses appear as if they are coming
    from brain dead visitors? :-P And, if you are posting on additional sites, I would
    like to follow you. Could you list of all of your shared
    pages like your linkedin profile, Facebook page or twitter feed?

  5. esapetri says:

    I do have facebook and some other profiles, but i am so busy(or pretend to be busy) on reallife that foften forget ‘em.
    I will link my face book here. Thank you for your intrest.

Leave a Reply

